Deus non alligatur. God is not bound. Nibbanam paramam sukham. Unbinding is the Highest Happiness. The Heart is Divinity. God is the primal radiance of Divinity. Nature is the primal manifestation of Divinity. The Buddha is the primal realization of Divinity. La ilaha il Allah. Allah is Complete Wholeness.

26 March 2007

Fantastic Four

Occupations can be classified into four kinds:

Vayu (air): to talk and teach
Agni (fire): to shine and fight
Prithvi (earth): to make and art
Apas (water): to serve and heal

Likewise, Yogas can be classified into four kinds:

Jnana: to discriminate absolute reality from relative reality
Raja: to meditate intensively, throwing down distraction
Karma: to perform action without fear of loss or gain
Bhakti: to contemplate the divine with love and devotion

Jnana Yoga utilizes attention (air). Raja Yoga utilizes the breath (fire). Karma Yoga uses the body (earth). Bhakti Yoga uses feeling (water).

One can practice any sort of occupation, while also engaged in any sort of Yoga. A Vayu-Karmi, for instance, might perform the actions of study and teaching, without concern for time lost or money gained; whereas an Apas-Rajan, might work as a healer who meditates 4 hours a day.

No occupation is better than any other. No Yoga is better than any other.

No comments: